Skip to Content

Profile Privacy

Actions

SAP Community Privacy FAQs

In order to participate fully in the SAP Community, you need to set your account privacy settings to opt in to display your profile publicly. If you don't, you will still be able to read SAP Community content, but you won't be able to ask questions, write blogs, or engage in any other way in the SAP Community. Here are the answers to the most frequently asked questions about profile privacy.

SAP Community Privacy FAQs 

What do I need to do to choose the privacy setting for my profile?

To participate in SAP Community, you will need to change your account settings and opt in to continue to display your profile publicly. To do this, first log into your account. After logging in, you should:

• Click your profile picture in the header and go to the Account Settings from the dropdown menu (or go directly to https://people.sap.com/manage)

• Scroll down to Privacy Settings

• Enable your public profile display by clicking the Edit Privacy Settings link, then selecting the green “Allow” button

You can find more information in this blog post. And If you would like additional instructions about the steps required, please watch this Tip in a Minute video.

Once you have completed the steps above, the setting will read "I allow my profile to be displayed publicly."

What does the Privacy Setting in the Account Settings page do?

This setting allows SAP to show your profile information publicly, such as your name, biography, content contributions, and badges. Note: Visibility of some information, such as your company and location, can still be set individually by visiting your private view at https://people.sap.com and clicking the Edit button in that section.

What happens if I do nothing with my profile's Privacy Setting?

Your profile display will be set to private by default. Your profile will no longer be visible publicly. Your previously contributed content will no longer be publicly attributed to you in the SAP Community. You will still be able to view your content in your private profile view, but across the SAP Community, it will be attributed to a Former Member with an anonymized profile image and no link to your profile. You will be able to read SAP Community content, but you will no longer be able to ask questions, write blogs, or participate in any other way in the SAP Community.

What happens if I choose not to allow public display of my profile by turning off the Privacy Setting?

Just as if you had taken no action, your profile will no longer be visible publicly. Your previously contributed content will no longer be publicly attributed to you in the Community. You will still be able to view your content in your private profile view, but across the SAP Community, it will be attributed to a Former Member with a ghost avatar and no link to your profile. You will be able to read SAP Community content, but you will no longer be able to ask questions, write blogs, or participate in any other way in the SAP Community.

Previous announcements indicated that profiles would switch to private by
default on May 25. However, the actual change is occurring May 23. Why the
change of date?

May 25 is a Friday -- and the start of a holiday weekend in some countries. After careful consideration, we thought it more prudent to make the change when we would have more of our team members to answer questions and assist members. Moving the switch up a few days won't permanently affect anyone who still wishes to remain an active member. If you discover that your profile has been set to private by default, you still have the option of changing the setting after May 23.

What if I change my mind later?

You can change your Privacy Setting as many times as and whenever you like. Should you choose to change your Privacy Setting to allow public profile display, you will be able to participate in the SAP Community again and your content will be re-attributed to you, showing your avatar and your name as the author.

Does my profile's Privacy Setting affect my ability to use the SAP Support Portal and SAP ONE Support Launchpad?

While the SAP.com profile is connected to other systems throughout the SAP infrastructure, it will not impact your ability to utilize the SAP Support Portal or SAP ONE Support Launchpad to contact our product support teams, as these do not require a public profile display for usage.

What happens to my linked profiles?

Your linked profiles will share the same Privacy Setting, based on the last change you've made on any of them. To manage your accounts' Privacy Settings separately, you must unlink them. The various linked scenarios are illustrated below. You can learn more about linked accounts in this blog post.

Will the content of former members be deleted?

No, we will not delete the content submitted by former members, as it still provides a valuable service to our community. It will, however, be anonymized -- attributed to a Former Member with an anonymized user image and no link to a member profile.

Will the "likes" and "votes" of former members also be deleted?

No, likes and votes will not disappear, even if users become former members or their accounts are deleted.

Why am I required to have a public profile display to participate in the SAP Community?

The SAP Community has always been built around interactions between individuals. Our rules of engagement have always stated that users are expected to use their real names and their own photos. This is not a new expectation of SAP Community members, employees or otherwise. In addition, turning on this privacy setting simply allows you to continue showing the profile information you already share today.

How can I find out what personal data SAP keeps on me?

Section A of the Privacy Policy at https://www.sap.com/about/legal/privacy details your data subject rights and how to submit such a data request.

How does SAP collect, use, and store personal data?

Please visit the Privacy Policy at https://www.sap.com/about/legal/privacy to learn how SAP collects and processes your personal data, and how you can obtain an overview of what SAP stores and uses.

How do I delete my personal data?

Section A of the Privacy Policy at https://www.sap.com/about/legal/privacy details your data subject rights and how to submit such a data request.

Back to top