• Tweet this Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+ Email

Explore how other customers are generating value with SAP technology.

More customer stories ›

Customer Snapshot

Ein starkes Team für den deutschen Fußball

170,000

Teams und mehr als zwei

Millionen Fußballspieler

Sie lieben Fußball? Wie wäre es, wenn Sie immer als erster von speziellen Ticketangeboten Ihrer Lieblingsmannschaft erfahren würden? Statt sich selbst durch die Werbung von Ticketshops zu klicken, erhielten Sie gleich das passende Angebot per E-Mail vom DFB – direkt auf das Mobilgerät. Sie hätten Zugang zu den besten Plätzen – und könnten Ihre Eintrittskarten jederzeit und überall kaufen.


Company

Deutscher Fußball-Bund (DFB)

Headquarters

Frankfurt a.M.

Customer Website

www.dfb.de

 

Number of Employees

220 (mit 6,8 Mio. Mitgliedern)

Implementation Partners

SAP Services

Line of Business

Sales, Marketing, Information Technology

Industry

Sports & Entertainment

Featured Products

SAP CRM powered by SAP HANA, SAP Event Ticketing

History

Erfolgreicher Fußball – seit über 100 Jahren

    

  • 1900Rund 86 Fußballvereine sind im Deutschen Fußball-Bund organisiert
  • 1954Weltmeister (Männer)
  • 1974Weltmeister (Männer)
  • 1990Weltmeister (Männer)
  • 2003Weltmeister (Frauen)
  • 2007Weltmeister (Frauen)
  • 2013 Rund 25.500 Vereine mit insgesamt 170.000 Männer- und Frauenteams gehören zum Deutschen Fußball-Bund. 6,8 Millionen Menschen haben eine Mitgliedschaft. Das sind acht Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung!

Business Model

Ein engagiertes Führungsteam

Die Nationalmannschaften der Männer und Frauen in Deutschland liegen aktuell auf Platz zwei der FIFA-Weltrangliste. Die Bundesrepublik ist sogar das einzige Land, das mit beiden Teams Weltmeister geworden ist (1954, 1974, 1990 bei den Männern, 2003 und 2007 bei den Frauen). Spitzenvereine wie der FC Bayern München und Borussia Dortmund gehören bereits zur Stammbesetzung der UEFA Champions League. Und Stars wie Fritz Walter, Uwe Seeler, Franz Beckenbauer, Lothar Matthäus und Gerd Müller sind weltweit zu Legenden geworden.

 

Alles Glückssache? Von wegen. Der Motor hinter all diesen Erfolgen ist der Deutsche Fußball-Bund, kurz DFB, mit Hauptsitz in Frankfurt. Über 6,8 Millionen Mitglieder – das sind mehr als acht Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung – machen ihn zum größten Sportbund der Welt. Der DFB startete im Jahr 1900 mit 86 Fußballvereinen. Mittlerweile ist er auf rund 25.500 Mitgliedsvereine mit 170.000 Männer- und Frauenteams sowie zwei Millionen Spielerinnen und Spieler angewachsen.

 

Die Deutsche Bundesliga, fünf Regional- und 21 Landesverbände sind im DFB organisiert. Das gemeinsame Ziel: Fußballspielern aller Altersgruppen eine Struktur und Support bieten – vom Profifußballer bis hin zum Hobbysportler. Eine Menge Arbeit für die rund 220 Mitarbeiter. Über digitale und mobile Kanäle möchte der DFB nun noch näher an die Fans rücken. Mit Produkten und Services, die genau auf ihre Wünsche abgestimmt sind. Das bringt Fußball und Publikum noch näher zusammen und belohnt treue Fans.


Success Strategy

Fans und Spieler immer in Bewegung

Mit Smartphone-Apps hält der DFB künftig seine Fans über neue Ereignisse und Ticketangebote auf dem Laufenden. Über Social Media sehen Fußballbegeisterte so jederzeit, welche ihrer Freunde ein Spiel besuchen und wo diese im Stadion sitzen. Auch Mitfahrgelegenheiten zu Heim- oder Auswärtsspielen sind schnell organisiert.

The Challenge

Es geht um die Fans!

Der DFB wollte ein komplett neues Fanerlebnis schaffen, mit einfacherer Kommunikation, besserem Kampagnenmanagement und personalisierten Nachrichten und Produktangeboten. Das Ziel: relevante Informationen konsistent und in Echtzeit bereitstellen.

 

„Unsere Vision? Wir möchten die beste Fußballnation der Welt werden."

– Daniel Gutermuth, SAP Implementation Project Manager beim DFB

The SAP Experience

Eine vielversprechende Partnerschaft

Die DFB-Führung ist sicher: Die Zusammenarbeit mit SAP ist wegweisend.

 

„Wir sind froh, dass SAP unser Partner ist und wir sind überzeugt, dass diese Partnerschaft lange bestehen bleibt."

–Stefan Ludwig, Managing Director bei DFB Consulting & Sales Service

Running Better

Wahl der richtigen Software um den Erfolg zu gewährleisten

Der Deutsche Fußball-Bund holte Angebote von verschiedenen Softwareanbietern ein. Die Lösung sollte schnell startklar, skalierbar und vorkonfiguriert sein. Schließlich fiel die Wahl auf SAP CRM Rapid-Deployment Solution powered by SAP HANA. Das Besondere: Die Anwendung für das Kundenbeziehungsmanagement läuft in Echtzeit in der SAP Cloud. Dank vorkonfigurierter Komponenten und einer klaren Roadmap der Implementierungsspezialisten von SAP Services war das System bereits nach drei Monaten startklar.

Benefits

WM-Tickets sind nur der Anfang

Zwei Wochen nach dem Go-live startete der DFB seine erste Marketingkampagne. Die Aktion sollte den Ticketverkauf für das DFB-Pokalfinale der Frauen in Köln unterstützen. Es war das erste Mal, dass der Fußball-Bund eine solche Kampagne in Eigenregie planen und ausführen konnte: Zusammen mit dem Vertrieb schuf der DFB maßgeschneiderte Angebote für die Fans. Alle nötigen Kundeninformationen standen dafür in einer zentralen Datenbank bereit.

 

Rund 8.700 Fans aus der Region Köln erhielten E-Mails mit speziellen Ticketangeboten und Links zum Onlineshop. Das Ergebnis: Fast jede zweite E-Mail wurde geöffnet. Sieben Prozent klickten sich auf die Ticketing-Seite des DFB. Erstmals konnten die Verantwortlichen genau nachvollziehen, wie die Empfänger auf die Angebote reagiert haben – und wo noch nachjustiert werden muss. Mithilfe von Berichten und Dashboards aus SAP BusinessObjects BI möchte der DFB die Kundendaten in Zukunft noch umfassender analysieren. Die Fans werden sich freuen.

Today

„TOOOOOOOR!!!”

Digital und mobil ist der DFB jetzt ganz nah an den Fans. Unterstützt durch die CRM-Lösung von SAP und die Anwendung SAP Event Ticketing bringt der Verband maßgeschneiderte Kampagnen aufs Spielfeld – und das binnen weniger Wochen. Ein Volltreffer für das DFB-Marketing.

Journey Ahead

Zum Vorteil des Fußballs und der Fans

Die Zukunftsvision des DFBs: alle wichtigen Abläufe der Verbandsarbeit mit SAP-Anwendungen unterstützen und wichtige Spiele und Turniere mit der Event-Ticketing-Software in der SAP Cloud powered by SAP HANA steuern. So lassen sich Kosten sparen, und die Fans profitieren von zusätzlichen Services.

• Tweet this Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on Google+ Email

Explore how other customers are generating value with SAP technology.

More customer stories ›

Customer Snapshot

A Winning Team for German Football

165,000

teams and more than

6.8 million members

As a football fan, you don’t want to miss a great ticket offer for your favorite team’s next game. Instead of looking through different promotional emails from various ticket providers, imagine receiving an email on your mobile device from DFB, tailored to your specific preferences, allowing you access to the best possible seats to the next game—that you can purchase, anywhere, anytime.

 

Company

German Football Association (DFB)

Headquarters

Frankfurt, Germany

Customer Website

www.dfb.de

 

Number of Employees

220 (with 6.8 million members)

Implementation Partners

SAP Services

Line of Business

Sales, Marketing, Information Technology

Industry

Sports & Entertainment

Featured Products

SAP CRM powered by SAP HANA, SAP Event Ticketing

History

A century of winning football

 

  • 1900Deutscher Fussball-Bund organized 86 football teams.
  • 1954World Cup Champions (men).
  • 1974World Cup Champions (men).
  • 1990World Cup Champions (men).
  • 2003World Cup Champions (women).
  • 2007 World Cup Champions (women).
  • 2013Deutscher Fussball-Bund organizes 25,500 member clubs that field 170,000 men’s and women’s teams, and boasts membership of 8% of Germany’s population, or 6.8 million members!

Business Model

A tight leadership team

DFB is made up of the German Football League at the professional level and five regional and 21 state associations at the semi-pro and amateur levels. The common goal across all levels of the association is to give organization, structure, and support to football players of all age groups and skill levels. That’s a lot of work for a staff of about 220, but DFB is up for the challenge.

 

DFB intends to access and serve its customers better through digital and mobile channels. It wants to offer products and services tailored to customer needs, improve customer loyalty, and build long-term relationship with the football public.

 

Both the men’s and women’s teams are currently ranked number 2 in the world by FIFA, and Germany is the only country to have won both the men’s and women’s World Cup (1954, 1974, 1990 for men’s; 2003, 2007 for women’s). Germany is also a consistent frontrunner in the UEFA Champions League with powerhouse teams like Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund, and has a long list of all-star players and legends such as Fritz Walter, Uwe Seeler, Franz Beckenbauer, Lothar Matthäus, and Gerd Müller, who make German fans proud.

 

But Germany’s accomplishments on the field didn’t happen by luck. The engine behind all this success is the German Football Association or DFB (Deutscher Fussball-Bund). Headquartered in Frankfurt, DFB boasts more than 6.8 million members – that’s over 8% of Germany’s population – making it the largest sports federation in the world. Beginning in 1900 with 86 football clubs, DFB has grown to some 25,500 member clubs that field 170,000 men’s and women’s teams with over 2 million players.


Success Strategy

Fans and players are on the move

With mobile phone apps DFB will be able to inform fans about new events and ticket offerings. Social media features will also allow fans to see who is going to a game, where their friends are sitting, and facilitate travelling together to home or away games. A new ticketing solution will also give DFB much better insight into its customer data.

The Challenge

Football fans rule!

The company wanted to create a completely new fan experience with simpler communications, improved campaign management, personalized messages, and product offers. DFB had a mission to establish and leverage a consistent, real-time view of all fan information.

 

“Our vision is to become the best football nation in the world.”

- Daniel Gutermuth, SAP Implementation Project Manager at DFB

The SAP Experience

A promising partnership

The leadership at DFB is confident they have established a good partnership with SAP.

 

“We are glad that SAP is our partner and we are convinced this partnership will last a long time.”

- Stefan Ludwig, Managing Director of DFB Consulting & Sales Services.

 

Running Better

Selecting the right system to assure success

Deutscher Fussball-Bund conducted a detailed analysis of the top software vendors and selected the SAP CRM rapid-deployment solution powered by the SAP HANA platform, running in the SAP HANA Enterprise Cloud. DFB positioned itself for a swift and simple implementation with the rapid-deployment solution. The company was looking for a solution that was quick to install, scalable, and preconfigured, and the rapid-deployment solution met all those needs. DFB was able to implement the SAP CRM application in about three months, thanks to a preconfigured solution and a clear roadmap laid out by the SAP Services organization.

Benefits

Tickets to a World Cup...and more

DFB launched its first marketing campaign two weeks after going live. The campaign was in support of ticket sales for the DFB Women’s Cup final in Cologne, Germany. This is the first time they were able to design and execute marketing campaigns by themselves. DFB was able to create customer-specific offers, integrated with sales, because all its customer information has been contained in a centralized database.

 

Approximately 8,700 fans who live near Cologne received emails with special offers on tickets and links to the online merchandise shop. Nearly half confirmed they viewed their personalized email and 7% clicked through to the DFB ticketing site. This helped DFB connect with customers personally and increase sales. Agents and executives could see how customers responded to the offers and make adjustments for the future.

DFB has plans to significantly improve its ability to query and report on customer data using the advanced analytics and dashboards available with SAP BusinessObjects BI solutions.

Today

“GOOAALLLL!!!”

 

DFB is using digital and mobile channels to better reach and serve customers, and the company believes this will ensure a great experience for every fan. The company is tailoring campaigns and promotions to fit the needs of their fans through the SAP CRM rapid-deployment solution powered by the SAP HANA platform and SAP Event Ticketing software. Sharp, effective campaigns can be developed in just weeks, and the DFB marketing team is shouting, “Goal!”

Journey Ahead

It’s all about the football, and the fans

DFB’s vision is to have its core SAP applications and SAP Event Ticketing software integrated and operational using SAP HANA Enterprise Cloud service to reduce costs and provide a scalable platform for additional functionality.

 

  • http://sapvideo.edgesuite.net/vod/2014/customer-journey/cj-dfb-journey-ahead-vidcj1061.mp4
  • 488
  • 275

A winning team: DFB and SAP HANA Enterprise Cloud!

“In five years I hope we still have one of the best national football teams in the world. And that we are able to offer our customers a completely integrated customer journey that is linked to our back-office systems.”

Daniel Gutermuth, DFB’s SAP Implementation Project Manager

 

Related Links